The Rundown- August ’15

I finished my second book the day before I went back to work… and it took me this long to post 😛

7514925Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson (new read)

I’m always interested in stories that give alternate views to classics. In this case, we learn the story of Tigerlily, one of the background characters in the narration of Peter Pan. At its heart, it is a love story, which manifests itself in many different ways. Although it’s primarily about the titular character, it’s actually told from the point of view of Tinkerbell, which give it an even more unique perspective.

I enjoyed going more in-depth with characters that we have previously only seen on the surface. There is lots of great backstory on the Lost Boys, Captain Hook, Smee, Tinkerbell, and Peter Pan himself. It was a fun read for the most part, but it did get a bit laborious at times. The author would launch into long descriptions of places, or feelings, instead of just explaining through the action.

I think teenagers would get a kick out of this book, especially probably not being too far removed from the source material. I would venture to say that it would skew more to a female demographic though.

VERDICT: It was, by no means, a terrible book. However, one of the best of all time? I think I’m going to have to vote no on this one.

Charlotte’s Web by E.B. White (reread)web

I don’t know that I can say much about this book that hasn’t already been said. When you think of classic children’s literature, this book is near the top of the list.

I read this book several times as a child, but it’s probably been at least twenty years since my most recent reread. It was every bit as wonderful as I remembered it.

If you somehow have managed to not read this book (who are you?), the main characters are Fern: a young girl, Wilbur: a pig, and Charlotte: a spider. Fern saves Wilbur from being killed as a runt, and Charlotte then works to save Wilbur from being slaughtered. It is a bit morbid when you think about it too much, but just focus on the friendship between Charlotte and Wilbur, and try not to smile!

I think a lot of the appeal of this book (besides the fact that there are animals who talk) is that it’s so universal. Almost everyone can relate to feelings of being lonely, or not being good enough. How encouraging is it to kids to pursue those unusual friendships that they may be afraid of? Or to help someone one who’s in a bind? Great lessons to learn.

VERDICT: Two verdicts on this. #1, this is not even remotely a “young adult” novel. It is definitely a children’s book. That aside, there is no doubt in my mind that this book should be on every best of list from now until eternity!

Leave a Reply

